Miller Family Law

Protective Orders

Protective Orders in Utah

Protective Orders

The issue of domestic violence is serious and widespread.  One in three women experience domestic violence or intimate partner abuse in their lifetime.  We take this issue seriously and are involved in the community through the South Valley Services organization.  If you are a victim of domestic violence, please call their 24/7 help line: 801-255-1095

The following actions could form the basis for a protective order:

  • hitting, kicking, pushing, pulling hair, using a weapon, or other types of physical attacks
  • stalking, harassing, kidnapping, sexual assault
  • restricting movement or stopping someone from calling for help
  • breaking things or throwing things to intimidate
  • trying or threatening to do any of these things

Once you are in a safe place, Miller Family Law can help you obtain a protective order that can protect you and your children.  These orders can contain any of the following: 

  • order the Respondent not to harm the Petitioner, the Petitioner's children or anyone who lives with the Petitioner
  • order the Respondent to stay away from the Petitioner and the Petitioner's home, job, vehicle or school and not to contact or harass the Petitioner in any way
  • order the Respondent not to have any guns or other weapons
  • order temporary possession of the home, car and essential personal property
  • order temporary custody, parent-time and support for the children
  • order temporary spousal support if the Petitioner and Respondent are married
  • order the children not to be removed from Utah

Additionally, if you have been accused of domestic violence, you must be aware that your parental rights can be seriously affected.  We will listen to you and help protect your rights and restore any damage that has been done.

Child Protective Orders

Any adult can ask the juvenile court for a protective order for minor children less than 18 years old when protection for those children is not requested as part of an adult's request for a protective order. Children who are at least 16 years old can also apply on their own for a protective order using the forms for the adult process found on the court's Protective Order Forms page.

You should speak with us if you have been abused or are at imminent risk of abuse:

"Abuse" means:

  • nonaccidental harm of a child;
  • threatened harm of a child;
  • sexual exploitation;
  • sexual abuse; or
  • human trafficking of a child

"Harm" means:

  • physical or developmental injury or damage;
  • emotional damage that results in a serious impairment in the child's growth, development, behavior, or psychological functioning;
  • sexual abuse; or
  • sexual exploitation.