End of the 90 Day Waiting Period for Divorce?
The 90-day waiting period for divorce in Utah may be coming to an end. The Utah Senate has approved a bill to ending the state’s 90-day waiting period for divorce. It must now go through the House and then on to the Governor's desk for signature.
Utah Code Section 30-3-18 requires that there must be at least 90 days between the date an individual requests a divorce and the date a hearing for the divorce may be held. Either party can ask that the waiting period be waived, but they must show the court that "extraordinary circumstances" exist.
There is little research to show that this 90-day waiting period actually leads to reconciliation, which is the purpose behind the policy. We'll keep you posted as this bill moves toward law.
Click here to view the original article.
Contact a divorce attorney at Miller Family Law, Inc to learn more.